Thrifting Montessori

As much as I adore Montessori, I recognize that the materials are quite costly. I’ve recently gone through a big move, and I’m trying to rebuild my stock of classroom items that didn’t make the move. Here I have been rather lucky and have found many awesome items – However I’m rather short on cash, so I’m thrifting everything. Is it possible? Let’s look!

Small Dish Set
Thought this would be great for a snack table. Cost = $1.50 at Goodwill
Oriental Tray
Bamboo Tray. Cost = $.25 at a Yard Sale
Tiny Tray
Cost = $.25 at a Yard Sale
Blue Compartmented Trays
Cost for both trays = $.25 at a Yard Sale
Sake Set
Cost = $1.25 at a Yard Sale
Test Tubes
Awesome for color mixing experiments or for single-seed growing. Cost =$.75 at a Yard Sale
Mini-Easel with Painting
Cost = $.10 (yes, cents!) at a Yard Sale
Small Boxes
The same boxes used in Montessori Math Materials – a set of over 50 boxes of all sizes. Cost $1.25 at Goodwill
Pitchers
Set of 3 Stainless Steel creamers. Cost = $.75 at Goodwill
Teapot and Creamer
Cost = Free from a small church thrift-shop clearing out it’s inventory.

This is just a small sample of the things I’ve gotten. Forgive the somewhat dim pictures, my camera’s flash has decided to quit on me. My husband and I go to the local Goodwill every Half-Off sale and see what we can find. Yard-Saling has also been great to me, however I can admit I do need work on my bargaining skills. I feel somewhat guilty taking things away from people so I tend to give what they ask for. Everyone keeps telling me to just walk away if I think it’s too much, but I really only offer to pay for what I’m very interested in! Oh well, it’s a skill I’ll keep practicing each Saturday morning.

2 thoughts on “Thrifting Montessori

  1. I’m so glad you are hunting around for thrifty items to build your Montessori! I was lucky to live close to six or seven thrift stores, including three children’s consignment stores for five years after my son was born! I sure miss them now!

    1. Going bargain hunting is so much fun! Things you can’t even imagine you wanted or need can be found for just a few coins. People sell really odd things at yard sales, it’s a great way to spend a Saturday morning. I think thrifting for children’s clothes is a great idea – they grow out of things so quick!

Leave a Reply

